SPEEDWAY, Ind. — Alexander Rossi snapped a 49-race losing streak by winning the Gallagher Grand Prix at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course this past Saturday.
However, IndyCar has determined that the car was illegal. Post-race inspection discovered that the car was under the minimum post-race weight requirement. The report showed that instead of using approved ballast Andretti Autosport used a water bottle instead.
Rossi will keep the win, but he and his team are being fired $25,000 and Rossi will also be docked 20 points from the championship standings.
Neither Andretti nor Rossi have commented on the ruling by IndyCar. They do have the option of appealing the ruling if they wish.
Rossi will be leaving Andretti Autosport at the end of the season to join Arrow McLaren SP.